Generic filters
Exact matches only

Spring Regatta

Regatta Round-Up – Winners take it All! – The 2007 BVI Spring Regatta and Sailing Festival drew to a close on Sunday 1st April with great cheers after a week of blood, sweat and tears from the crews of 149 competing boats.  First time BVI Regatta visitor ABN Amro One blitzed the opposition in the Spinnaker Racing A with a string of flawless first finishes.  But the BVI stood proud as Peter Haycraft brought Pipe Dream home ahead of the field in the Racer-Cruiser class.  Peter hasn’t missed a BVI Spring Regatta since its inception – that’s a lot of racing.

The winners of the 2007 BVI Spring Regatta, presented by Nanny Cay Marina and Resort, governed by the Royal BVI Yacht Club and BVICCHA, and proudly sponsored by the BVI Tourist Board, Heineken, the Moorings, FirstCaribbean International Bank, Mount Gay Rum, Shell, the Bitter End Yacht Club, and CCT Global Communications were:

Racing A                                 Ocean Volvo 70,        ABN Amro One skippered  by Brad Jackson
Racing B                                 Melges 24,                 Devil 3 skippered by Chris Stanton
Racing C                                 Olson 30,                    J-Bird III skippered by Doug Baker
Racing D                                 J/27,                           J-Walker skippered by Chris Thompson
Racing E                                 Racer-Cruiser              Sirena 38, Pipedream skippered by Peter Haycraft
Performance Cruising A                                             Affinity
Performance Cruising B                                             Three Harkoms skippered by Peter Lloyd
Jib and Main                                                              Mary Jane skippered by David Heuter and                                                                                            Andy Kaiser
Bareboat A                                                                 Joyce Smith skippered by Tony Mack
Bareboat B                                                                Chess skippered by Jan Soderberg
Multihull                                                                    Triple Jack skippered by Richard Wooldridge
IC24                                                                           MIO Broadband skippered by Robbie and                                                                                           Michael Hirst
Beach Cat                                                                  Caribbean Auto Mart, Tom Ainger
Laser and Radial                                                        Ryan Rocke

Congratulations to the BVI Spring Regatta organisers for spectacularly pulling it off for the 36th time!

Like this article? Sign up to our newsletter!