Generic filters
Exact matches only

Gov Wins 2010 Sloop Shootout

Thursday, August 5– His Excellency the Governor Mr. David Pearey edged out his contenders to obtain his second consecutive win at the August Tuesday Great Festival Sloop Shoot Out.

In his last race as Governor, Mr. Pearey beat out H. Lavity Stoutt Community College President Dr. Karl Dawson and his crew on board the Youth Instructor and Premier and Minister of Finance Honourable Ralph T. O’Neal, OBE represented by Mr. Butch “Wellington” Romney on board the Sea Moon.

  Locally built sloops Moonbeam (left) and Sea Moon (right) compete in the August Tuesday seventh Annual Great Festival Sloop Shoot Out. (Photo Credit: Race Organiser/ Mr. Geoffrey Brooks)

At a brief ceremony, Governor Pearey expressed his joy in competing in the sloop races and for being part of the cultural event. The Governor said he has fond memories of sailing in the Territory’s waters and will especially miss the opportunity to compete in the race once he departs.

Race organiser Mr. Geoffrey Brooks presented the Governor with the cup and a replica of the winning sloop “Moonbeam” which he captained for five years as part of the August Tuesday event. The crew on board the winning sloop included first mate Mr. Richard Wooldridge, Mr. Elmore Stoutt and Mr. Jamel Davies.

The annual event, promoted as a challenge between the Governor and the Premier, serves to revive the local sloops races held in the past and increase interest in the maritime heritage of the Virgin Islands.

The seventh Annual Great Festival Sloop Shoot Out was organised and sponsored by the Centre for Applied Marine Studies at the HLSCC and sponsored by the Loyal West End Yacht Club, the Royal BVI Yacht Club and VI Powerboat Association.

Participants of the August Tuesday seventh Annual Great Festival Sloop Shoot Out. (Photo credit: GIS/Colene Penn)


Like this article? Sign up to our newsletter!